The Mini-Magic of Birthdays

I love birthdays. I love my birthday. I love your birthday. I feel bad for people who don’t like birthdays. Birthdays to me are sacred; they are the days we get to celebrate what makes the person born on that day special and unique. If I’m celebrating your birthday, I’m celebrating you. Yesterday was my birthday, and I was overwhelmed by all the well-wishes I received from people who took time to celebrate me. Because I’m worth celebrating. And so are you. At least one day a year.

Birthdays to me are mini-Christmases.  To explain what I mean by that, I’d like to share with you all a post I made on Facebook 3 years ago.  Perhaps in this reflection on the magic of Christmas you may see better the mini-magic of birthdays. 🙂

– – – – – – – – – –

Verbum caro factum est, et vidimus gloriam ejus.
December 25, 2010

Unto which of the angels said He at any time, ‘Thou art my Son; this day have I begotten Thee’?

A lot of people think that Hallowe’en is my favorite holiday.  While Hallowe’en holds a very special place for me, my favorite holiday is undoubtedly Christmas.  Hallowe’en for me is more of a mission; Christmas is a celebration.  I could sing to God and be in the company of others with a smile on my face for ever at this time of year.

Christmas is the day that we Christians recall the birth of Jesus, the long-awaited Christ.  This Jesus, as we believe, lived in order to die, to be the eternal ransom for the sins of all.  Now God could have redeemed the fall of mankind in any way he chose.  And the way he chose begins here, at Christmas, with birth of Jesus, son of God and God himself.  Think about what that means, and see how magical it is.  The almighty source of existence, creator of all things visible and invisible, the All-That-Is pervading all realities in a single instant, made a conscious decision to limit himself in time and space in order to achieve a more intimate knowledge of the human experience, to know us on the purest personal level so that he could love and serve us better.  To me, that is something worth celebrating.  To me, it means we are something worth celebrating.  And every year at this time I can’t help but see all those things in my family, my friends, my muses, everyone that make our lives worth celebrating.

So take a look at yourself and those around you, and celebrate what you see there.  For you see the glory of the Word made flesh.

Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

