Meditation on the Sorowful Mysteries on the Feastday of the Guardian Angels

Whoever wishes to come after Me must deny himself, take up his cross and follow Me.

O Mother: What claim should I wish to have on any of the crowns of this world, when I do not even merit the crown of thorns pressed upon my Savior? We are to be a kingdom and priests for You! Yet most of my life has been spent in the garden, begging the Father on my knees and in tears to let weakness and suffering pass me by and steeling myself for the moment He says “No.” Until now my scourging has been emotional and spiritual; only recently have I begun to feel the rough whips, though I am still a long way from 39. How can I expect the receive the reward of a crown, let alone the crown’s reward of the cross?

Father: it is Your graceful will that I should embrace my weakness and so see Your strength. Let my weakness be my boast, then, as was written to Corinth, “for it is when I am weak that I am strong.” Only my weakness can receive the cross that only Your strength can carry. And together we will walk uphill to the moment I can commit myself entirely to You, crucified to the world with Your Son – my Lord Brother. Perhaps then, at the last, I will love Him with more than a faithless brother’s love.

Sancta Maria Mater Dei, ora pro nobis peccatoribus nunc et in hora mortis nostrae.

For to His angels He has given command about You, that they should guard you on all your ways.

Leave a Reply

